Keeping Your Focus

Sometimes I get bogged down with the “everydayness” of life.  For me, there are just too many things that by nature are repetitive, like lawnwork and laundry and (the worst one of all) bills.  I hate doing work that has to be done again in a few hours.  Cooking is a real pain, too.  I actually like planning and preparing meals, but by the time we’ve claened up from one meal everyone is hungry again! I like work that has a definitive end. 

I was getting a bit whiney in my spirit recently about this “everydayness” thing, so I decided to focus on things that I am thankful for that never change.  Here are my top 5.

1. God’s character

2. God’s Word

3. The order of the Universe

4. The feeling of a good hug

5.  The love of family and friends

I noticed that the things on my list were things eternal.  The things that frusrate us (even the really, really painful ones)are only every day things. They’re not eternal.  The key to not getting bogged down with the every day is to stay focused on the eternal. 

2 Corinthians 4:18 (Whole Chapter)
While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

One thought on “Keeping Your Focus

  1. Kelly,
    You hit the nail on the head. I just took Joshua to Marks mothers and got out of doing the same old thing. It was so nice. Joshua , Jaycie and I had a great time. I got home last night and it seems like the same old thing just took over my life. Mark is on me about everthing. I think he needs a break. Please pray for us that we can stop together as a couple and smell the roses. I hope you and the kids are doing wel. Your Joshua is going to be home today isn’t he? I’ll talk to you soon. Tell ryan We said hello. Love, K.K.

Leave a Reply

