Getting off My Tush

 “He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us, as you help us by your prayers. Then many will give thanks on our[a] behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many.”  2 Corinthians 1:10 -11

I continue be amazed at God’e goodness and the comfort of being surrrounded by the prayers of many.  I got back from Pittsburgh this week where we added something new to my  treatments.  It was a medication (natural, of course, with no risks of side effects) that was mixed with my blood and injected into my vein.  The nurse told me that we would know if it would help within a few days.

The verdict is in.  I have new return in my glutes!  They are weak, but receiving messeges and actively moving enough to get my hips off the mat with minimum assistance!  I am so excited!!

 My trunk is getting stronger, too.  Today I was fighting the resistance from the PT enough to make him sweat!

My once paralyzed (I love saying that!) left arm and hand are making progress.  I’m working really hard on reaching forward and getting more use of my thumb.  I’ve also gotten enough muscle back in my scapula to allow me to start working on my deltoids.  My endurance is steadily increasing, as well.  I’ve gone from 3 minutes on the hand bike to 16 minutes, as of today.

It is so redemptive for me to be able to go to physical therapy and actually be able to work and see results.  For years it was futile, exhausting and discouraging.  I longed for the day when I could actually do something to get improvement, and now, praise God, that day is here.  I still have a very long way to go, but I have no doubt that God intends to finish what He started and I know He will fulfill every word He has spoken to me.

All of this is very exciting, but also really, really hard work, so please keep praying.  Please pray as we make medical and financial decisions, as well.  One of my doctors has a new treatment that he thinks I should try.  I just want God to open the right doors for me.

Leave a Reply

