Guarding the Garden

It’s been one of those weeks.  On Sunday we were down at the beach when the front wheel fell off my wheelchair. Thankfully I was not in it.  Then on Monday my computer’s hard drive bit the dust, taking the latest updates on my book with it.  On Tuesday I went to therapy with hopes of getting my chair repaired only to discover I didn’t even have an appointment!  Wednesday I went to therapy, my awesome OT rigged the chair temporarily, and then I left the hospital and promptly ran out of gas. Somewhere in between I got mad at my husband and totally fleshed out on him.

 Sometimes walking with God is a really strange experience.  It seems like we can have faith to move mountains but trip over pebbles.  How is it that we can totaly lose our spiritual equilibrium over such trivial matters?  Song of Solomon 2:15 puts it this way:

  15[My heart was touched and I fervently sang to him my desire] Take for us the foxes, the [d]little foxes that spoil the vineyards [of our love], for our vineyards are in blossom.

It’s those little foxes we really have to watch out for!  They are sly, they tend to come in groups and they disturb the vineyards of our love.  I think the reason this happens is actually quite simple.  The big events get our attention and force us to focus on only what matters most.  The little things distract us, and we lose our focus.  We lose sight of our beloved.  He is always so good, though, isn’t He?  He just keeps lavishing us with love until we can’t help but notice Him above the clamour of the world.

It’s Friday.  My friend’s husband took the time to get my computer working AND he got my book back!  I made it to therapy and got my wheelchair repaired and my life isn’t any worse for the frustrations.  So I just cry out with the Shulamite maiden and ask the Lord to help guard the garden of my heart from the little foxes as well as to fortify it for the days of calamity.  Both will come.  I just want to be near Him when it does.

Leave a Reply

