He Covers

Jehovah Nissi.  The Lord our banner.  The Lord who covers us with His love, protection, Himself.  He’s got us covered in every way.  He’s got us covered in our battles and He’s got us covered in our hearts. 

When the battles rage the hardest, He always sends relief to sustain us.  This week it was through fellow warriors.  I spent six hours in the car on Saturday for a hug.  Really.  It was worth it.  Sometimes just the physical connection of our spiritual family is enough to get us through the next part of the battle.  David said it like this:

1Behold, how good and how pleasant it is for brethren to dwell together in unity!

   2It is like the precious ointment upon the head, that ran down upon the beard, even Aaron’s beard: that went down to the skirts of his garments;

True fellowship releases an anointing.  We didn’t even pray with our friends.  We didn’t need to.  The anointing, the covering, flowed because of love.

The battles are raging even harder now, but I know where to take cover.
“Sometimes the pressure builds around me and I feel about to break
I suffer painfully from wrongs done to me but vengeance isn’t mine to take
So let me glory in my weakness till Your strength’s revealed in me
It is Your grace alone that helps me carry on to be the man I long to be
So let Your life be perfected, Lord in me
Until it’s You they see

And though the trials never end

I’ve learned to take them as my friend

For each day He covers me.

Steve Camp, “He Covers Me”

Leave a Reply

