It’s Better to Give…or Receive

Today I was off to physical therapy and my gas tank was on empty.  Ryan had to get the kids to school,  so I had to trust God to find someone to pump my gas.  I drove down the road to the nearest town.  There are three gas stations in a row there.  The first place I drove up to had gas pumps from the 1970’s and I wasn’t quite sure they were still in operation.  Just down the road was another gas station.  I drove through, but thought I might have better luck at the next one.  After realizing the pumps were closer to the door at station number two, I went back there, thinking that the people who run the store would be more likely to hear me honk if I couldn’t nab someone at the pumps.  Once I got there, though, I realized that the music was so loud that no one would ever hear me honking!  I started to become really annoyed with the loud, hip-hop music pounding, but thought it better to focus on getting help from someone at the pump.

 I pulled in behind a lady who looked nice, and I thought for a moment that she would be my target, but she looked dressed for work and I thought she might be in a hurry.  So, the guy with the big, red pick-up became the target.  I watched him for a moment and then decided to make my move.  I pulled around to an angle and trapped him.  I rolled down the window and asked as politely as I could if I could ask a favor of him.  Because of the blaring music, he didn’t hear me, but he waved kindly and started to get into his truck.

 Desperarte, I forgot about being polite and yelled.  Realizing that I was asking for some kind of help, the man walked closer to the car.  I explained my predicament and asked him if he would pump my gas.

“Well, bless your heart,” he answered in true Southern as he agreed to help.  I thanked him and circled back to the gas pump.  I parked the car and handed the man my debit card.  I’m telling you, I really have to walk by faith!  The kind man looked at the card and then he looked at me and said, “I’ve never paid for gas at the pump before.  I’m not sure I even know how to do it!” 

Well, he figured it out, and just as he was beginning to pump the gas, I realized the song blasting over the loud speaker was the Christian song “I can Only Imagine”!  After he pumped my gas for me he invited me to visit his church.  I drove away with a tear in my eyes.  This man had truly pumped my gas unto the the Lord and had truly reached out to me in His name.  What an honor to have been able to receive a cup of water, or tank of gas, as the case may be, in the Name of the Lord.  I was humbled and touched and blessed and got my need met all at once! 

In our culture, we don’t often like to receive from or depend on others.  Sometimes, though, it is a beautiful thing to give someone the opportunity and a reason to worship God by reaching out.  So it leads to the question; who is actually the giver, the one providing for the need, or the one providing an opportunity to give? 

I’ve never been invited to the First Baptist Church of Waxhaw, but now I may just have to stop by sometime and get to know the folks this real follower of Christ worships with.

Acts 20:35
I have shown you all things, how that by so laboring ye ought to support the weak and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how He said, `It is more blessed to give than to receive.'”

Leave a Reply

