A Day To Remember

       Every valley shall be raised up,
       every mountain and hill made low;
       the rough ground shall become level,
       the rugged places a plain.  And the glory of the LORD will be revealed…  Isaiah 40:4-5

Today is November 17.  Twelve years ago yesterday I lay in the ER becoming increasingly helpless as paralysis overtook my body.  This used to be a very hard day for me.  It was a day that I really had to fight the enemy just to keep my head above the waters of discouragement and sadness. 

It’s different now.  If I really think about it, I suppose it is emotional, but not like it was.  I have twelve years of perspective on my side.  Things look different from here.    I have twelve years of watching God meet our every need and twelve years worth of incredible testimonies.  I have twelve years of being held so tight in the arms of God that my tears are tears of thanksgiving! I have new and more pressing challenges than what happened in the past, and I have twelve more years with a faithful God to help look to the next twelve with hope and faith. 

Incredible things have happened both beautiful and heartbreaking.  I’ve learned to allow God to even out my path, and not allow the low places to bring me too far down, nor let the high places carry me away.  It is in remaining focused on His face that our paths are made straight and when we hold onto the Rock we remain stable.  It is then that He is able to reveal His glory to us, in us and through us.  And isn’t that everything we ever wanted anyway?  Suddenly, it doesn’t matter how we got there, but just that we are there, in His glory.

Leave a Reply

