Interruptions

The end of the year is always packed for me. My daughter’s birthday is right around (some years on) Thanksgiving. Two weeks after Thanksgiving is my son’s birthday. Two weeks later is my anniversary. Five days later is Christmas, followed by the new year and my husband’s and my birthdays all in the same week!

This year has had even more events and stresses than usual, but one thing I’ve learned to do is to keep living, I mean really experiencing Zoe Life, in the midst of the stressors and busyness. (Even as I write my six year old is screaming for his sister because he decided to hang from the bannister and got scared!) I’ve learned that no matter what is going on around me, I’ve got to find and remain in the secret place with the Lord and just keep doing what He has called me to do.

The apostle Paul likened we as Christ followers to soldiers. He reminded us that soldiers do not entangle themselves in civilian activities. We are here for the purpose of The Kingdom. Everything else is secondary, at best.

This week Ryan and I celebrated our twentieth wedding anniversary. Selah.

We went out to eat. Alone. I didn’t want to think about anything else. We finished our meal and Ryan asked if I was ready to go. “No,” I said. “I think God is speaking to me.”

“Tell me,” he said enthusiastically. “It’s not for us. It’s for the man behind me,” I explained. “Oh,” he sounded as nervous as I felt.

I prayed quickly, half hoping the sense I was getting would go away, but it only got stronger. So, I did the only thing left to do. I wheeled over to the stratnger and his wife and proceeded to tell them what the Lord wanted them to hear. They were very gracious. I went back to my table. As Ryan and I left we passed the strangers. It was a little awkward. We got outside and I was really hoping I had done the right thing when the woman came out to thank me and tell me the story behind the word I had gotten for them.

Wow! God is so merciful! I didn’t have to wonder if I had acted out of obebience or on a whim! It was like God’s anniverary gift to us. Twenty years ago, all we asked was that God get glory out of our marriage. It’s all from Him and for Him and He honors our smallest efforts! We just have to remeber what it (life, marriage, everything) is all about, and He makes it happen. So, I’m thankful that God interrupts our lives, in big ways and in small ones, because it helps me remember why I’m here and who is in charge. So whatever your doing and however crazy it gets, expect, look for and welcome God’s interruptions.

I read this yesterday.  I love it!  I want to live it.

“LIFE ISN’T ABOUT WAITING FOR THE STORM TO END; IT’S ABOUT LEARNING TO DANCE IN THE RAIN.”

Leave a Reply

