Modern Mourning

I just spoke with one of my dear friends. She’s just barely recovered from open heart surgery and called to tell me that now she’s being sent to a surgeon for a tumor.  I had just gotten off the phone when I heard another friend on a local radio station.  She was talking about the struggles and rejection her family has endured because of the color of her children’s skin.  That was it!

The personal struggles of those close to me coupled with images of weeping mothers in China and tornado victims in the midwest was enough to make me want to rend my clothes, throw ashes on my head and wail.  That’s not exactly socially acceptable in 21st century America, though.  So, I am resorting to our cultural equivalent; blogging.  I am crying out to God and anyone else who will listen.  My heart breaks over the suffering and injustice and I weep for the Body of Christ to come together in mercy and power for those in need of water, food, shelter, healing, comfort and hope.

My plea is for God to so change my heart that I carry the very presence of God to the needy people all around us.  I want His love to pour out of me onto their wounds and for them to know that they have been touched by the Living Messiah.  I pray that all Believers will be moved to action by the things  that move Jesus to tears.

  1. James 1:27 (Whole Chapter)
    Pure religionand undefiled before God and the Father is this, To visit the fatherless and widows in their affliction, and to keep himself unspotted from the world.
  2. Matthew 25:35-36

35For I was a hungry, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:

   36Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

2 thoughts on “Modern Mourning

  1. Hi Kelly,

    Lately, I’ve experienced the same thing. I looked at pictures of the people who have lost loved ones in the earthqake in China and wept and prayed for them like they were my own family. I think it was a God thing.

    My Dad has just been diagnosed with stage 3 lung cancer and has been given six months to a year to live. He wants to go see Jesus yesterday, if you know what I mean. In other words he wants no treatment and just to go to heaven now or as soon as possible.

    My friend and employer just lost his wife and her mother to the same thing my Dad was just diagnosed with and she only lasted six weeks. Sometimes it is the devil, sometimes it is God because we are all going to go through the night season and have a number of days to our lives.

    Than my Dad will say to me. Everything is going to be alright and it is as though God himself has spoken his peace beyond our understanding and I am calmed, quieted and totally at rest.

    Continue to pray for you little angel,
    Love Dale

Leave a Reply

