Rescued

Sometimes I get overwhelmed with life.  Nothing causes a meltdown for me like when the things I’m trying hard to accomplish unravel and there is nothing I can do about it.  Getting to appointments is a tough one for me.  I have to plan way in advance and if one little thing goes wrong it can throw the whole day off.  Yesterday that happened.  I was trying to be ready on time, but I didn’t quite make it from the bed to my wheelchair.  Instead, I fell in the floor.  My foot got twisted behind me and my shins scraped on my footplate, but I wasn’t seriously injured.   My kids rescued me.

Something like that happened on Monday, too.  It’s been one of those weeks.  I was so frustrated, but when I pulled into my driveway my daughter met me with excitement, which was an unexpected shift from the teenage attitude I normally get.  She had my camera in hand and started showing me photos she’d just taken.  They were all taken in our yard and were amazing, but mostly they reminded me that life is beautiful.  Right after that, my son came over and helped me get things done.  He wanted me to listen to a “new” song, which was actually an old worship song that had been redone.  Again, my kids rescued me.

I’d honestly gone through so much with them, that I was sure they’d be the death of me!  But this week I’ve come to  know that God does sometimes use them to kill the worst parts of me, and when I submit to the process, which I hate doing, it brings out the best in all of us.  So even when their “killing me”, they’re rescuing me.  God is always working in irony and paradox, or at least it seems that way to us.  The fact is, His ways really aren’t our ways.  We can’t think like Him, even when we try.  Sometimes it’s best not to try to figure Him out but to accept Him and His ways for what they are: love incomprehensible.

Alexa’s photos:

   Click here for a larger view.  Click here for a larger view.   Click here for a larger view.  Click here for a larger view. Click here for a larger view.     

Click here for a larger view.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

