A Mother’s Intuition/God’s Ways

When I was a kid a loved reading His Mysterious Ways, a monthly article in a magazine that came to our house each month.  I loved hearing about real life stories of people who had experienced for themselves the supernatural power and presence of God.  I think it was, and is, comforting to know that God really is bigger than us and not bound by this realm that we see.

 It satisfies something deep inside to know that God really is the same yesterday, today and forever and that although some of His most magnificent work is done on a macro scale for all of humanity, many of His miracles were and are reserved for individuals and reflect His love of intimacy.   These stories build faith and the only thing better than reading them is living them.  I lived one yesterday.

My seven year old was in day camp, my daughter and I had an appointment and so I asked my son to pick his brother up from camp.  Alexa and I had just left the appointment and were driving when I heard my cell phone ring.  The ring tone was the one I have set for members of the family.  I told Alexa to find the phone.  She couldn’t find it in any of the obvious places.  “I can’t find it, Mom.  I didn’t even hear it ring.  Are you sure you brought it?”

“I’m certain because it just rang.  It’s Josh.  I probably need to go get Josiah.  Look under the seat. I really need to call Josh and let him know not to worry about Josiah.”  Alexa proceeded to climb all over the car and I headed toward the day camp.  Meanwhile, Josh had had a minor fender bender and was desparately trying to reach me and tell me to get Josiah.

I got to the camp and asked Alexa to go in and ask if Josiah had been picked up yet.  Just as she started to protest on grounds of my questionable sanity since she had never found a phone that could have rung, Josiah came bouncing out.  We headed home and on our way passed Josh who then met us in the driveway.

Josh and I were busy exchanging stories of what had happened.  I was just explaining how I heard the phone ring and knew it was him and knew that I needed to get Josiah when Alexa came out of the house with my cell phone.  It had been in my bedroom the whole time!

One thought on “A Mother’s Intuition/God’s Ways

  1. Quote: “It satisfies something deep inside to know that God really is the same yesterday, today and forever and that although some of His most magnificent work is done on a macro scale for all of humanity, many of His miracles were and are reserved for individuals and reflect His love of intimacy. These stories build faith and the only thing better than reading them is living them.”
    This really caught me. It is exactly how I feel. I use to do the same things when I was younger as well. I still do it as a matter of fact. I read one yesterday to that amazed me on a blog that I love to read. It just amazes me how Great God’s Power is. When I look at my own life I love to look back and see just how much God has changed me in just the past five years, not just spiritually but physically as well. Both have been INCREDIBLE!

Leave a Reply

