Broken

One of my best friends looked at me with real sadness recently and confessed, “I feel like damaged goods.”

“You are,” I replied as compassionately as I could.  “We all are.  That’s why Jesus came.  It’s okay.”

If we’re honest, we’d all admit that we’ve felt that way before, too.  If we’re wise, we’ll never forget. Because it’s in our brokenness that we meet The One who was broken for us and find wholeness.

Brokenness comes in a lot of different packages, but it comes to all of us.  Here are just a few examples.

Broken Dreams

Job 17:11 
My days are over.My hopes have disappeared. My heart’s desires are broken.

Sickness

Job 7:5 
My flesh is clothed with worms and clods of dust; my skin is broken and has become loathsome, and it closes up and breaks out afresh.

Sin and Failure

Psalm 51:17 
My sacrifice [the sacrifice acceptable] to God is a broken spirit; a broken and a contrite heart [broken down with sorrow for sin and humbly and thoroughly penitent], such, O God, You will not despise. 

Intercession For Others

Jeremiah 23:9  
Concerning the prophets: My heart [says Jeremiah] is broken within me, all my bones shake; I am like a drunken man, a man whom wine has overcome, because of the Lord and because of His holy words [which He has pronounced against unfaithful leaders]. 

Jesus’ whole life was about brokeness.  If we are to follow Him we have to realize that is the whole point of our lives, too.  It’s one of His glorious ironies.  He meets us in our brokenness, picks us up and restores us to the place that we are willingly broken for others.  That’s the goal.  It’s not about who can be honored or exalted the most.  It’s not about who can get the most attention or make the most money.  It’s not about gaining anything at all.

It’s about losing it all to gain what only He can give. It’s about bowing the lowest, dying daily and giving up whatever is nessecary for the Life of Jesus to flow through us to all the other broken people around us.

One of my favorite songs right now says this:

“Nothing brings Him greater fame than when broken people call His name.  Lift high your chains undone . All rise exalt the Son. Jesus Christ The Holy One we lift our eyes to you.”  (Lift High by Fee)

 

Passage Psalm 34:18:

   18 The Lord is close to the brokenhearted;
      he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.

Leave a Reply

