Beauty For Ashes

Isaiah 61

 

    1 The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is upon me,
      for the Lord has anointed me
      to bring good news to the poor.
   He has sent me to comfort the brokenhearted
      and to proclaim that captives will be released
      and prisoners will be freed.[a]
    2 He has sent me to tell those who mourn
      that the time of the Lord’s favor has come,[b]
      and with it, the day of God’s anger against their enemies.
    3 To all who mourn in Israel,[c]
      he will give a crown of beauty for ashes…

I’ve always loved this passage.  This was the scripture Jesus used in His opening act, the first time He taught in a temple.  I have experienced this passage over and over as I’ve watched Him take the ruins left of my life and those of others and make us beautiful.  He is not bound by time.  So it can never be too late.  He can heal the heart of a child still aching in an adult body and he can bring redemption to the most horrific and senseless situations.  Nothing and no one is beyond His reach.

This is why I love Him.  I never lose the sense of awe that comes when He changes lives and heals situations. I never get tired of hearing and telling the stories.  He creates such beauty!  The real miracle is that He doesn’t stop at just making us beautiful, but He anoints us to see and  bring forth His beauty in others.  It just doesn’t get any better!

I have to smile at His ways.  He loves irony and paradox!  My own little opening act is a book signing at (get this!) a beauty salon!  We go to a salon hoping that the stylist sees our natural beauty and knows just what to do to bring it out. It’s as if in allowing the first signing to be in a salon He is saying, “I am setting the agenda.  Now go do for others what I done for you.  Spread my beauty!”

If you live close by, come visit us as we get this thing started.  The book signing will be Arnella’s hair Spa in Waxhaw.  I’ll post the details as soon as I have them.

Leave a Reply

