Valley of Tears

Psalm 84

   5Blessed are those whose strength is in you,
    in whose heart are the highways to Zion.
6As they go through the Valley of Baca
   they make it a place of springs;
    the early rain also covers it with pools.
7They go from strength to strength;
   each one appears before God in Zion.

 

I’m still meditating on psalm 84. Particularly, the part about the Valley of Bacca or Tears.  You know sometimes I am just not in the mood to be in that valley.  I don’t really want to feel the pain and cry the tears that are required to bring forth the springs.  My inclination is to pull myself up from my bootstraps, grab my hat and ride that proverbial pony out of there as fast as I can.  That is, until I realize the only way out is through the tears.

That’s the place I was in when I first got home from the hospital.  You’d think after nearly losing my life, becoming paralyzed and being in the hospital for four months, I’d be broken wide open.  I’m a little stubborn, though. Besides, I really didn’t know that’s what God wanted.  I thought keeping my faith strong meant toughing it out the way I was doing it.  God had to speak to me plainly before I got it.  He said, “Embrace the suffering.”  Honestly, I still didn’t get it at first.  I remember thinking, “Are you sure?”

I was really concerned about crossing the line and accepting the situation in a wrong way.  That’s not what God meant.  He meant for me to embrace my own suffering the way Jesus embraced the cross.  To allow the suffering to do the work it was intended to do, which is to bring death and then resurrection.  

Romans 6

that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.

Once again, it seems that the things in the spirit are opposite to the way we normally think.  When I learned to embrace the suffering, I didn’t accept the unacceptable, I opened the wells refreshing.  The blessings of the valley are in the brokeness and the treasures are in the tears.

Leave a Reply

