Lessons From Little Otter

Have you ever felt like your treading water? You know what I mean.  You’re in the middle of the ocean, the waves keep coming, the undertow is getting the best of you, you can’t swim so you’re just doing your best to keep your head above water.  That’s how I’ve been feeling lately! I want to yell, “Hey Jesus!  Could you do that “Peace be still miracle”  again?  I’d try the walking on water thing, but my head is under most of the time! 

Then it occurred to me that in my son’s Little Otter Swim Class that they teach the kids to roll over, be still and float if they get into a potential drowning situation. It’s hard to do that while I’m flailing around like a mad woman! I think Jesus has been saying, “Peace be still,”  but he’s talking to me and not the water.  The waves obey quicker.

So, I’m going to try to get my kids to bed on time, plug the iPod into my ears and try to float as I meditate on these scriptures.

Psalm 93:3-4   3 The floods have risen up, O Lord.

      The floods have roared like thunder;
      the floods have lifted their pounding waves.
    4 But mightier than the violent raging of the seas,
      mightier than the breakers on the shore—
      the Lord above is mightier than these!

 

Jeremiah 5:22 
Have you no respect for me?Why don’t you tremble in my presence?I, the Lord, define the ocean’s sandy shorelineas an everlasting boundary that the waters cannot cross.The waves may toss and roar,but they can never pass the boundaries I set. 

Isaiah 43:2 (Whole Chapter) 
When you go through deep waters,I will be with you.When you go through rivers of difficulty,you will not drown.

Leave a Reply

