A Close Encounter

mail

The very first person at my very first book signing was a lovely lady I’d never met with a very cool name; Logan.  She sat down and right away started talking to me, asking questions and treating me like a friend she hadn’t seen in a week.  Then she started to open up  and she told me about the abusive marriage she was in and how no one really knew how bad it had gotten.  She’d only been married about a year.  The more she talked, the more convinced I became that she had to get away from her husband for her own safety.  I begged her to go to the police and even offered to go with her.  She thanked me but declined the offer.

Two weeks later she had an appointment to get her hair done and never showed up. Our friend and hair stylist, Arnella went to her house to check on her.  No one  came to the door, and as she turned to go down the steps, Arnella was met by two FBI agents.  Logan’s husband had reported her missing since Halloween.  Logan remained missing for weeks.  During that time, Arnella had a recurring dream of Logan calling out to her that she was cold and wet.

In November Logan Edward’s body was recovered from a river in South Carolina.  Subsequently, her husband  confessed to the murder.

I am so saddened by this event.  I wish there was more I could have done.  I don’t know what that could have been, but I just wish I could have done more.  Many times we try to isolate ourselves from how evil, evil really is, but events like this remind us how far from home we really are in this world.  We really are just passing through with the sole purpose of bringing the Light of Jesus to a very dark world.  It reminds me of the significance of every “chance meeting” and the importance of every soul.

I keep waiting for something redemptive to come from this, but it’s just not there.  I know that Logan loved the Lord and that she is with him.  That is our consolation.  Nothing can prepare a family for this kind of news.  Please pray for Logan’s mom, daughter, grandchildren and sisters.

Leave a Reply

