Focus Is Everything

  

Passage Mark 4:19:
19Then the cares and anxieties of the world and distractions of the age, and the pleasure and delight and false glamour and deceitfulness of riches, and the craving and passionate desire for other things creep in and choke and suffocate the Word, and it becomes fruitless.

 

Unfortunately, I must confess that this verse could be stamped across 2008 for me.  The anxieties and distractions were many, and although I didn’t run off and join the circus or anything crazy, I have felt that creeping and suffocating feeling that comes when I get distracted by the things of this world.  Marriage, children, financial obligations and health issues can be overwhelming and can become real distractions.
Colossians 3:2 says, “Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.”  It really doesn’t matter how good or seemingly important the things on Earth seem (like family or even ministry) they will distract us from what our focus should be (Jesus) if we are not diligent.  I was very focused on the Lord as a teen and I had a youth minister tell me once that if I got too Heavenly minded I’d be no Earthly good. I don’t think we need to worry about that.  Becoming religious will destroy you and your witness, but truly keeping a Kingdom focus will steer you right into the heart of God, which will in turn thrust you into the middle of broken humanity where He can use you.

I have a fierceness in my heart right now.  I absolutely refuse to be taken off course by life!  I am angry that the enemy would try to interfere with God’s plans for me and I am angry with myself for becoming distracted.  I am in a “take no prisoners” kind of mood.  I am not willing to lose the edge that the Lord has given to a few little distractions like the economy or illness or whatever!

I am going to begin the new year with a fast and I encourage you to do the same.  It is one of the best tools the Lord has given us (not to mention that Mark 2:20 makes it clear that we are to be fasting) to clear our minds of worldly clutter and maintain our focus.

I not only desire to have the Lord as the focus of my life, I truly believe that this year it will prove to be absolutely vital!  Blessings to you as you seek Him and His direction for this new season. 

Leave a Reply

