Keep Your Chin Up!

 

The God of all things and all people is not the least bit shocked when we, personally or collectively, experience disturbing times and events. He is still on the throne when our heads are spinning and our hearts are broken. He knows that we are merely flesh even while we are reeling from the circumstances that cause us to recognize that fact ourselves. Jesus was painfully aware of how difficult it is to live as a human and how we would feel when the world around us is behaving like, well, the world. And he told his friends that things would get worse before they got better. Then He told them to keep their chins up.

Luke 21:28 Now when these things begin to occur, look up and lift up your heads, because your redemption (deliverance) is drawing near.

God is not trapped by the time and space we live in. He wants us to know that the things on Earth are only a shadow of things that are real. He knows, and so does the enemy, that if we really grasp that reality we might be shaken but we will never be moved from the place of strength, joy and hope that we have in Christ. An eternal perespective is one of the keys to overcoming especially in the days we are now in.

2 Corinthians 4:18 So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.

This is why we close our eyes during prayer. I always say that I can see better with my eyes closed! So what is it that He wants us to see and fix our gaze on? It is Jesus! He wants us to see Him and his beauty. Whe we see Him, nothing else matters at all!

Acts 7:55
But Stephen, full of the Holy Spirit, gazed steadily into heaven and saw the glory of God, and he saw Jesus standing in the place of honor at God’s right hand.

That’s what we have to do; stay full of the Holy Spirit and gaze staedily into heaven until we can see clearly. When get a glimpse of the things of heaven we hunger and thirst for God, nothing else is even remotely as important. Our perspective is totally altered by the beauty of His presence.

Psalm 63 1 O God, you are my God;
I earnestly search for you.
My soul thirsts for you;
my whole body longs for you
in this parched and weary land
where there is no water.
2 I have seen you in your sanctuary
and gazed upon your power and glory.
3 Your unfailing love is better than life itself;
how I praise you!
4 I will praise you as long as I live,
lifting up my hands to you in prayer.
5 You satisfy me more than the richest feast.
I will praise you with songs of joy.

6 I lie awake thinking of you,
meditating on you through the night.
7 Because you are my helper,
I sing for joy in the shadow of your wings.
8 I cling to you;
your strong right hand holds me securely.

3 thoughts on “Keep Your Chin Up!

  1. Amen, Kelly. God just brought me through a troubling time at church and He kept telling me to keep my eyes on him that the problem would implode on itself and that He is the Gate to the sheep pen and the Good Shepherd. Bless you, your writing is so encouraging. I pray God just keep pouring his revelation on you to share. Love Dale

  2. It is always a blessing to hear from my Ohio intercessor friends. Margot and Dale, you two are among the dearest!

Leave a Reply

