The Warrior

I was once described by someone who doesn’t know me well as having a stiff upper lip.  I’ve never been a good faker.  If you see me smiling, it’s the joy of the Lord but if you find me quiet then something is amiss. I almost never cry in the presence of anyone unless I am certain they have something to give.  It makes me feel awkward and I end up trying to make them feel better.  So, I cry best in the presence of God and those who let Him flow through them. In High School the Bible characters I related to most were Jeremiah, the “Weeping Prophet” and David, the “Warrior Poet”.  In those days a song by Twila Paris became sort of an anthem for me.  It still rings true, especially this week.  And from talking to people lately, I think many can relate.  Here are some of the lyrics:

“The Warrior is a Child”

They don’t know that I go running home when I fall down

They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around

I drop my sword and cry for just a while

‘Cause deep inside this armor

The warrior is a child.

Unafraid because His armor is the best

But even soldiers need a quiet place to rest

People say that I’m amazing

Never face retreat

But they don’t see the enemies

That lay me at His feet.

They don’t know that I go running home when I fall down

They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around

I drop my sword and and cry for just a while

‘Cause deep inside this armor

the warrior is a child.



4 thoughts on “The Warrior

  1. Ditto Kelly! I adore that song, and it was and has been something precious to keep in my heart for the tough times.

Leave a Reply

