Being Human

I find being human difficult, and life on this planet like a wonderful adventure far from home in which you  never quite lose the sense of homesickness.  I love the thrill of the journey and knowing that the God of the universe dwells in and with me and that together we are accomplishing amazing feats.

Yet, at the same time, trying to understand what it means to be human, which has very little to do with this place in which we all reside, and staying connected and in tune with the things of the Spirit is just plain complicated. It’s like being in an upside down world.  Maybe that’s why Paul said that “We are looking in a mirror that gives only a dim (blurred) reflection [of reality as in a riddle or enigma]” 1 Cor. 13:12  What we know of being human from this world is a backward vision of a riddle! The only way to find out who we are and what it means to be human is found in the next part of that verse.  “But then [when perfection comes] we shall see in reality and face to face! Now I know in part (imperfectly), but then I shall know and understand fully and clearly, even in the same manner as I have been fully and clearly known and understood [by God].”

Perfection has come.  His name is Jesus.  We get glimpses now, sometimes through His Word, and sometimes in prayer or worship.  The more time we spend seeking Him the clearer our vision.  Sometimes we have moments of such clarity it feels as if we’ll never forget.  But always, we have to go back to the journey and the clarity turns to a blur and what we think we have firmly in our hearts and minds is slowly clouded by the everydayness of being human.  God is smart though, and He knew this is how it would be so He placed within us the very longings that cause us, in our homesickness, to seek out not only His presence but also the presence of others who have gazed into His eyes and gotten a glimpse of who we are and where we are going.

Being human means constantly living between realms, and never feeling completely at home except for those precious moments with Him and those who know Him. So if you ever see me with that far away look in my eyes (that I’m told I sometimes have) I’m probably just torn between the place I belong and the place I need to be…human.


5 thoughts on “Being Human

  1. Oh My Goodness girl! I love you so much! I really needed this! I am not seeing clearly and it is time to see it again! I love you and you please do not stop ever being you!! KK

  2. Kelly, Once again – you are able to say either what I’m feeling, or what I’m trying to figure out. I miss my soul sister! I love you…keep writing…keep smiling…keep eating cccd! 🙂

  3. Thanks you two for the encouragement! I love writing but I have to fight for it. I had to write this one while listening to Spongebob! 🙂

  4. Kel you have an awesome gift of writing on the topic of what I believe so many hungry Christians are feeling and longing for, but can’t express, me being one of them!!!
    The world is changing so fast and so dramatically that I don’t feel like I can keep up, I also feel like a foreigner, it’s kinda weird!
    I love you, thank u for your fight to write,
    and your inspiration, keep writing the Holy
    Spirit needs to keep using you!!!
    Love you Kel, xox

  5. We are foreigners, my sweet Lynne but we are here on purpose. Thanks for keeping me focused on that purpose. Love you!

Leave a Reply

