Happy Mother’s Day

I suppose this seems a little belated but as a mom of one grown son, a teenage daughter who minimally tolerates me and a nine year old with Asperger’s Syndrome, I take what I can get whenever I get it.  On “the real” Mother’s Day my Aspie had a notorious melt- down at the restaurant so we had to leave before dinner.  I was so mad, and sad, and exhausted!  I just wanted to quit. Seriously.  During my first experience raising a teenager I really wanted to retire from motherhood.  I looked into it. There is no retirement plan. Today was another one of those days when I wanted to double-check the fine print just to make sure. Definitely no retirement plan.

So what do I do when I feel like retiring?  I call my mom!  Good thing she didn’t retire.  🙂  That helped.  Who else will let you cry and rant as if it’s the end even though they know you’ll be over it by about noon?  So feeling a bit better, and having decided not to seek retirement, I made it through the rest of the day.

Then it happened.  My nine-year old threw his arms around me and said, “You are so cute!  I love you so much! Thank you for being pregnant to me.  I’m proud of you because that was hard work and I wouldn’t even be here if you didn’t.  I’d still be in Heaven.”  I guess I really can’t retire.  They wouldn’t be here without me and I wouldn’t be the same without them.

Passage 2 John 1:8:
8Look to yourselves (take care) that you may not lose (throw away or destroy) all that we and you have labored for, but that you may [persevere until you] win and receive back a perfect reward [in full].

8 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Kelly, I love you!!! I’m so grateful God allowed our paths to cross. And even though they are only crossing in cyberspace for now, when I read what God lays on your heart, I feel like you are sitting right here beside me.
    …or rather we’re sitting the car again driving to who knows where, solving all the problems of the world together while singing at the top of our lungs along with Petra or Michael W. Smith – whatever the day’s mood calls for!

    Having said that…

    “…and a friend’s a friend forever if the Lord’s the Lord of them….
    …cause a lifetime’s not too long…no a lifetime’s not to long…
    …to live as friends!!!”

    I love you friend! Cissy

  2. Kelly,
    This is so encouraging to me and all the other
    mom’s who read it. This proves we have an awesome Savior who bestows so much grace on us. Continue to let that light shine.
    Love you,
    Susan

  3. Wow, I really needed to read this today, I seriously considered retiring from teenage motherhood yesterday. Had a big meltdown and am back to my motherly role today! This timing is perfect My dear friend, the Holy Spirit is truly using using you for such a time as this!!!!!
    Never stop writing what’s on your heart, it’s always right on in so many of our lives!!! May Jesus touch you intimately and powerfully and give you the PEACE and HEALING you need NOW!!!!! In Jesus name, Amen and Amen!
    I love you Kel!

  4. Thank you Cissy! I could use one of our long cookie dough outings! And I just heard that song a few weeks ago! How fitting. 🙂

    Thanks Susan!

    Lynnie, I am right there with you! Thanks for the prayers, as well.

  5. Kelly, Oh, can I relate. I told my husband, Mark, I wanted to resign from parenting our Aspy son and he said, “get in line”. We both laughed and stuck with parenting.

    But we couldn’t do a single day without the grace of God. To think how many times He could have resigned from Fathering us.

    I love you. You are such an inspiration to me.

  6. Келли ,я восхищаюсь тобой!!! Ты удивительная и прекрасная мама .
    Я люблю тебя.

    Наташа Пилипец

  7. Girl, you know I KNOW what you mean!

    Raising children is the HARDEST JOB out there – it should come with the BEST BENEFIT PACKAGE! If we know JESUS, it does – they kill us, then we go to HEAVEN TO BE WITH JESUS! (just kidding)

    I love to read your writings! You are an inspiration to all whose path you cross! You are an AWESOME mom – AWESOME PATIENCE FROM THE LORD!

    I miss you and our talks sweet lady!

  8. We were just talking about you tonight!! I miss you too. I am giving you a big, fat excuse to go to the beach. Call me any time. Love you!

Leave a Reply

