Show Us Your Muscle God!

I’ve been in situations in which I knew for certain that if God did not supernaturally intervene immediately, the outcome would be no less than tragic.  I’ve also been in situations that I felt that if God did not move, I would simply crumble under the pressure.  Each time, our God, the One, True and Living God has proven Himself not only capable but willing and faithful to His name. When one of my sons was eight, he was praying about one of these kinds of situations.  His cry was, “Show us your muscle God!”

Who could have said it better?  That’s what we need!  We need someone bigger, stronger and tougher than ourselves and our enemies.  His prayer was right in line with scripture.  God is the Lord of Hosts or the God of warriors.  He is a great warrior and He does fight against His (and our) enemies.

  1. 2 Chronicles 32:8
    With us is the LORD our God to help us, and to fight our battles.
  2. Jeremiah 21:5
    And I myself will fight against you with an outstretched hand and with a strong arm.

I can hear some of you in frustration right now saying, “Come on!  There are plenty of times when God does not step in.  Look at you, Kelly.  What about the wheelchair?!”

Okay.  That’s fair.  Here is the truth, though.  Either God is exactly who He says He is and He can be trusted completely, or we should all just live our lives completely for ourselves and our own pleasure because He is just a big fake at best.  Yes, I am still in the chair.  No, He has not supernaturally made everything nice.  However, I have personally seen and experienced too many miracles and watched Him personally come to my aid too many times to ever complain.  What I know, is that He cannot lie.  He is painfully patient, too. Everything He promises will come to pass but not in our timing and maybe not even in our lifetime.

Hebrews 11:39

And all of these, though they won divine approval by [means of] their faith, did not receive the fulfillment of what was promised.

If you start getting overwhelmed by everything going on in your less than Norman Rockwell life, read the rest of Hebrews 11.  That always gives me some perspective! God will always fight our enemies, unfortunately sometimes we are our own worst enemy.  His purpose is always first and foremost about our heart.  He wants relationship with us more than anything else.  Sometimes when I am most overwhelmed, I can’t even remember why I’m here or what I’m about.  That’s when I get impatient and want my way instead of God’s way.  When I can get the focus off how I want things to be or how I think they should turn out, then I can rest and focus on my friendship with God.  When that happens everything is different even when people and circumstances remain unchanged.

Deuteronomy 3:24:

24 ‘O Sovereign Lord, you have only begun to show your greatness and the strength of your hand to me, your servant. Is there any god in heaven or on earth who can perform such great and mighty deeds as you do?

6 thoughts on “Show Us Your Muscle God!

  1. Kelly, you continue to amaze me. I am so proud of you and your stand for, not only God’s Word, but your testimony of Faith and Stick To It Tenacity!
    Your First book should be read by everyone.
    You got what it takes and you take what you got and use it for His Glory. YEA!
    You are a Blessing to Donna and I.

  2. This article is so timely for the Church U.S. it points out how far we have come away from the fellowship and true relationship with him. Instead the Church has employed Madison avenue marketing technique to draw the lost in. How apostate this is! This is why there appears to be no difference the World and the Church! don

Leave a Reply

