Just Keep Swimming!

When my first-born was just days old I held him in my arms wishing I could hold him like that forever and knowing that would not be possible I prayed this prayer:

“Lord, Please help me to release my son at each stage in his life so that when he is grown it won’t be so hard to do it all at once.”

It was a brave prayer. It was sincere. Yet, I was nieve. I pictured something much easier and simpler than my reality. I didn’t factor in being paralyzed and I sort of had this idea that I would go before them clearing a path that would be safe and they would just follow. I didn’t consider the fact that my kids might forge their own path heading right off a cliff while they looked back at me saying, “Really Mom, I’m fine. How hard can this be?” as they tumbled right off the edge and all I could do was watch in horror and pray.

I have a few friends watching the same scene. As I prayed for all of us, I knew that God’s response was for us to keep moving forward. To me that is one of the hardest things to do. Ever. I just want to go back, get my (grown) kids, take them by the hand and bring them with me.

Just as I had been thinking about all of this one of my friends called to tell me about a dream she had. She was swimming laps in a pool with her son. Somehow he had gotten a fairly minor injury and was bleeding. He fell behind her and she became really worried. Just as she was about to go back for him, she heard a voice say, “Just keep swimming.”

I love the way God speaks and especially when He says the same thing to several of His children at once. I know God understands how difficult it is to love children, pour your life into them and then release them, especially when their choices put them in harm’s way. He really gets it. He wrote the book on that one! We have to trust Him and know that He has a plan for each of our kids and knows exactly how to reach them no matter how far off the path they may go or how lost they seem at the moment.

6 thoughts on “Just Keep Swimming!

  1. hmmm. Makes me think of Joe’s song, “Waters to swim in…..The waters can get very rough can’t they?! If we can just learn to rest in HIm. He WILL and IS carrying us and our Nemos!

    Thanks, Kelly, as always! 🙂 Dorthy

  2. This is a lesson we all learn as mothers! From the time my children were little I had a prayer that I said often: Lord let me release my children when they become adults so that they will want to come back and be a part of my life. I thought they would go without bumps and bruises but that has not been the path. By keeping my arms open and my opinions to myself unless ask to give them, God has been faithful in them being apart of our life. Now going through the release with the grandchildren, my just as hard to keep mouth shut and arms open and prayers going up for all! Love to you Kelly.

Leave a Reply

