When It Rains It Pours

Matthew 5 :45

For He gives his sunlight to both the evil and the good, and he sends rain on the just and the unjust alike.

Just two days after my daughter’s frightening car accident, my husband was on his way to the dermatologist to have some “iffy” spots removed and our ten year old tripped on the way to take out the trash. His scream fried my last two nerves that were left in tact after Alexa’s ordeal.  Ryan took one look and announced, “He broke it,” as he rushed out the door.

Thankfully, because his procedure would prevent him from lifting anything (namely me) for ten days, our friend Dina had flown in from California to help us.  Once we located the keys and got me out of bed we headed in the direction of the hospital.  The wrist was, in fact, broken. It took another trip to an orthopedic doctor and one more hospital visit to get the bone set and in a cast.

At one point Josiah looked at me in frustration and said, “Alexa wrecks her whole car and doesn’t get a scratch and I just go to take out the trash and I break my arm!”

I could hear his lament echo through the ages, “It’s not fair!”  And it’s not.  Life is not fair. But before we take a collective dive into the pity pool we have to remember that there are two sides to the fairness coin. While it may be absolutely true that the hard thing we are dealing with is not our fault and therefore arguably not fair, it is equally true that there are many blessings in our lives that we cannot take credit for and are therefore “not fair”.

So when we look at both sides of the coin, we are forced right back where we should stay and that is in a place of thankfulness. For everything in my life that I could cry, “Not fair!” about there are far more that I could say the same thing about only on the positive side.  If you are having a hard time with this start with Jesus. It’s not fair that we did all the sinning and he took all the punishment.  He paid a very high price for us and really, there is nothing that we deserve except for the punishment we never have to face. So life is not fair. It’s not fair that I have always had a warm bed when some never have. It’s not fair that I have known the love of God when some have never heard His name.  Now that you’re on the right track, make a list of all the wonderful things in your life that aren’t fair and thank God for them.

2 thoughts on “When It Rains It Pours

  1. Hi Kelly! Greetings from your former hair colorist! I was going through some papers and found “livingthecall.com” written on a Planet 21 business card. You came to mind TWO DAYS AGO, so I am BLOWN AWAY that I came across that business card!!! I had no idea it was you until I came to the site. Anyway, I hope you and your family are well…my little one turns 4 this month…how time flies!
    Kathryn ❤

Leave a Reply

