It’s What I Do

I’ve met a lot of new people lately. I love meeting new people! I really do enjoy it, but inevitably the one question comes up that stumps me. “What do you do?”
I honestly wish the question was, “Who are you?” or “What makes you tick?” or “What do you see as your destiny?”

I could answer those questions easily! But since I don’t make the rules, I decided I needed to come up with a good one liner. So here it is, for anyone and everyone who wants to know what I do: I am a waiter. Yes, that’s right and the spelling is correct.

That is what I do. I wait. I wake up in the morning and I wait for someone else to wake up to give me clothes so I can get dressed. I wait for someone to bring me food when I’m hungry and water when I’m thirsty. I wait for someone to get me out of bed and to put me back in. I wait for someone to put me in my car. I wait to pick up my child at school. I wait while he plays on the playground. I wait for people to come talk to me since I can’t go to them. I’m usually busy while I wait. I wait and talk to friends and family. I wait and do paperwork or phone errands. I wait and pray a lot.

waiting_room

Yep! I’m an official waiter. There are scriptures about waiting on God but ironically, He is the only person I don’t have to wait on. He is always right here! He is closer than my very breath. Sometimes He is more talkative than other times but He never leaves. Sometimes I have to wait on His promises but never on Him. So that’s my answer to the inevitable question.

Isaiah 40:31
King James Version (KJV)
31 But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

10 thoughts on “It’s What I Do

  1. Hi Sheila. Thank you so much for your patience! I’ve missed connecting but don’t worry I’ve got some unwritten posts saved up in my heart and will get them out as soon as possible! Great picture, by the way!

  2. So blessed and happy to be a part of the “new” people you’ve met lately. This is a wonderful post, and the perspective that you bring to the subject of “waiting” is powerful. You have had no choice than to “let patience have its perfect work in you…” Actually, you have had a choice. You could have chosen the path of anger and bitterness, but you didn’t. God’s grace and presence works through you in a clear and present way. It’s beautiful. πŸ™‚

  3. Always wonderful to hear from you. We have been faithfully praying for your pastor’s family after the death of their precious daughter. Love you and pray for you and your family also, of course. I miss our coffee dates together so much!

Leave a Reply

