Small Victories/All Victories

“Dear friends, we are already God’s children, but he has not yet shown us what we will be like when Christ appears. But we do know that we will be like him, for we will see him as he really is.”  John 3:2 

When I was first paralyzed, I was sitting in my hospital room next to a night stand that held one of those old fashioned, black, office phones.  I decided I wanted to make a call so I reached over and picked up the phone, not at all realizing my physical weakness.  The weight of the phone, not more than a couple of pounds, was enough to pull me over so that my head was parallel to the floor. I tried to yell for help but no one could hear me. I had no choice but to literally just hang there until a nurse showed up. Those were some really tough days, and the doctors gave little to no hope for improvement.That was over 18 years ago. I’m not walking. I’m not doing a lot of things that I’d like to do, but then again, I’m doing a lot more than I once did.

Today our family went bowling. I decided to take the elevator down to the lanes to cheer the others on.   Then I noticed the toddlers were using a dinosaur  slide to roll the ball down and participate with their families and I thought, “I could do that!” So my oldest son wheeled me out and handed me the ball. After one try of the dinosaur slide I thought, “I don’t need that!” So for the rest of the game I bowled one-handed from my chair and I won the game! Admittedly, they gave me the advantage of  using the bumper, but still just being able to wield an eight pound ball was quite a victory.

It reminded me a bit of our spiritual walks.  Sometimes it can be discouraging because it seems like we have such a long way to go, but if we take a broader perspective we can see how far we’ve come. Then it is  easier to see that there is a lot to cheer about. There will be a day when we will be changed in an instant. Until then, we must keep our focus and celebrate every small victory.

3 thoughts on “Small Victories/All Victories

  1. You never cease to amaze me… Unlike many, or most of your audience here, I have been blessed to know you personally and call you friend. You are nothing short of inspirational. Truly…So thankful to have had the joy of having you in my life. Thank you for this post. It made me smile from the inside out. 🙂

  2. Thank you, Carla. And for my undying devotion and friendship you can honor me with your amazing cooking! Lol!

Leave a Reply

