Beating the Odds!

R and K hospital 2016

On November 16, 1995 I woke up and took my husband Ryan to work for the first time since a bout of pneumonia. I told him to come home early and went home with our kids. By noon I was completely and inexplicably paralyzed. The odds of that happening to a healthy 27 year old woman are not exactly high. By the time my husband got to me I was in near respiratory failure and he was told I might not survive. I beat the odds.

On November 16, 2015 I awoke with the thought that it had been exactly 20 years since that very life changing day. Ryan went to work for the first time since having broken his leg. By evening he was in the ER with shortness of breath and chest pains. By the time I got to him he had been told that he had  complicated double emboli and had he not gone to the ER he would have died that night. He beat the odds.

What are the odds that a married couple would almost die but survive on the exact same date twenty years apart? I have no idea but I know it is close to impossible! We beat the odds!

God has made it abundantly clear to us that we are on this planet, together, for a reason. In our marriage vows we included this verse:

Psalm 34:3  Come, let us tell of the Lord’s Greatness; let us exalt His name together.

That was the cry of our hearts 28 years ago and is even more so today. Rejoice with us in the God who beats the odds!

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Beating the Odds!

  1. You guys are so AWESOME, AND SUCH A POWERFUL TESTIMONY!!! WITH A POWERFUL TESTIMONY!!! I LOVE AND MISS YOU ALL!

  2. Ahh!!! Yes!! I love this very condensed version of some of the wonders God has done in your lives!!
    Love you both!!

  3. Just simply beautiful! !!Love ya’ll! Jenna

    Sent on the new Sprint Network from my Samsung Galaxy S®4

  4. You’re not a kidding – VERY abbreviated & such a beautiful testimony to God’s power of healing, transformation, and his goodness – despite ALL odds!

    I love you our wonderful friends!!! Many hugs! Cissy

Leave a Reply

