He Calls You By Name

image

That’s my grandson, Channing. He loves the beach and swimming and all of the creatures that live in the “fish water” as he calls it.

We were recently talking to him about his soon coming baby brother or sister and asked him what he wanted to name the baby. Without hesitation he announced, “Starfish!” Of course my husband and I cracked up and I had visions of SpongeBob and Patrick!

image

When I finally quit laughing, I thought about how sweet it was that Channing would call the baby his favorite thing. That’s how God is with us! We are His favorite things and no matter what else we’ve been called or have called ourselves, He gives us a new name when we accept His sacrifice as our great exchange.

When we have been called Sinner He calls us Righteous. When we’ve been called shameful, He calls us Holy. When we are called ugly, He says Beutiful! When the report says sick, He calls us Healed! When the experts say Hopeless, God shouts Opportunity!

He loves us and our names so much that he carved them into His hands.

See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; Isaiah 49:16

You shall no more be termed Forsaken,
and your land shall no more be termed Desolate,
but you shall be called My Delight Is in Her,for the Lord delights in you.. Isaiah 62:4

“To the one who is victorious, I will give some of the hidden manna. I will also give that person a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to the one who receives it” (Revelation 2:17).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

